Schools in Perak: a brief appraisal

[Please note that this list is not exhaustive.]

Clifford School, Kuala Kangsar

Established December 1897 as a Malay school, it was initially known as Government English School, and then Hogan School, after its first head, J.P.C. Hogan. The school was renamed Clifford School in 1928 after Sir Hugh Clifford, the High Commissioner of the FMS.
Motto: The ship is more than the crew

Clifford School, Kuala Kangsar.

Notable alumni from Clifford School include:
1. Almarhum Sultan Yusuf Izzudin
2. Almarhum Sultan Idris Shah II
3. Almarhum Sultan Abdul Aziz
4. Almarhum Sultan Iskandar
5. Almarhum Raja Muda Musa ibni Almarhum Sultan Abd Aziz
6. TYT Tun Hamdan Sheikh Tahir, former Yang Dipertua Pulau Pinang
7. TYT Tun Syed Zahiruddin Syed Hassan, former Yang Dipertua Melaka
8. Y.A.Bhg. Tun Mohammed Sufian Hashim, former Ketua Hakim Negara
9. Raja Tun Mohar Raja Badiozaman
10. Y.A.Bhg Tun V.T. Sambanthan
11. YM Raja Dato’ Lope Ahmad Raja Razman, former Senior Assistant Commissioner, PDRM
12. YM Raja Harun Al Rashid bin Raja Razman
13. Lt Gen (Rtd) Raja Datuk Seri Abdul Rashid Badiozaman

St. Michael’s Institution, Ipoh

Established in 1912 by Rev. J.B. Coppin, SMI is located on Clayton Road (now Jalan S.P. Seenivasagam). As the number of students grew, the school was managed by the La Sallian Brothers. The gothic school building which was completed in 1921 is now a designated heritage site.
Motto: Quis Ut Deus (Who can compare to God?) and Signum Fidei (A Sign of Faith)


St Michael's Institution, Ipoh.

Notable former Michaelians include:
1. Dato’ Seri Lim Keng Yaik, former president of Gerakan
2. Tan Sri Dato’ Seri (Dr) Lin See-Yan, former Deputy Governor of Bank Negara)
3. Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye
4. Dato’ Seri Ahmad Farid Ridzuan, CEO of Rangkaian Media TV3
5. Ralph Marshall, Group CEO of Astro All Asia Networks PLC
6. Koo Kien Kiat, Malaysian badminton doubles player

Anderson School, Ipoh

Established 6 February 1909, following complains that places at the Malay College Kuala Kangsar was difficult to get as well the refusal of many Malay parents to send their children to ACS Ipoh. The school was named after Sir John Anderson, the High Commissioner of the FMS and Governor of the Straits Settlements. Lt. Col. J. H, Tyte, who was previously at the Victoria Institution in Kuala Lumpur, became the first Head.
Motto: To strive to seek to find and not to yield


Anderson School, Ipoh.

Notable Old Andersonians include:
1. Tun Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid
2. Gen (Rtd) Tan Sri Zahidi Zainuddin, ex-Chief of Armed Forces)
3. Admiral (Rtd) Datuk Seri Ahmad Ramli Mohd Nor, ex-Chief of the Royal Navy)
4. Tan Sri Mohd Bakri Omar, former Inspector General of Police
5. Dato’ Mohd. Nor Khalid (Lat), cartoonist

Anglo-Chinese School, Ipoh

Established 31 July 1895 by Rev. W.E. Horley, in an attap-roofed house rented by Dato’ Panglima Kinta Muhammad Yusuff. In November 1895, work on the current buildings housing the school as we know it now commenced, on four acres of land at Lahat Road given by the State Government.
Motto: Bene orasse bene studuisse (Pray hard, study hard)

ACS Ipoh

ACS, Ipoh.

Alumni include:
1. Raja Razman Raja Abdul Hamid (Ku Nick), before going to MCKK
2. Dato’ Panglima Kinta Che’ Wan
3. Cheah Soon Kit, national badminton player

Main Convent, Ipoh

Established 7 January 1907 by Mother St Victoire on Brewster Road, with support from the British Government and the Assistant General to the Priests’ Assembly in Paris. The school is now known as Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Convent Ipoh.
Motto: Tulus dengan fadilah, azam dengan bakti


Main Convent, Ipoh.

Alumni include:
1. Michelle Yeoh, actress
2. Amy Mastura, singer and actress

The Malay College, Kuala Kangsar

Established 2 January 1905, The Malay College is the first boarding school in Malaysia, borne from an idea put forward by R.J. Wilkinson, supported by Almarhum Sultan Idris Shah I, Almarhum Tuanku Muhammad Shah (NS), Almarhum Sultan Ahmad Muadzam Shah (Pahang) and Almarhum Sultan Alaiddin Sulaiman Shah (Selangor). The College was based on the English public school system, aimed to educate and groom sons of the Malay ruling class as administrators.
Motto: Fiat sapienta virtus (Manliness through wisdom)


The Big School (and the 'Big Tree'), The Malay College Kuala Kangsar.

Notable Royal alumni of the College is somewhat numerous, and include Ku Nick and his family:
1. YM Raja Razman bin Raja Abdul Hamid (Ku Nick)
2. YM Raja Dato’ Seri Shahriman bin Raja Abdul Hamid
3. YM Raja Dato’ Amir Shah bin Raja Razman, ADC to the Sultan of Perak
4. YM Raja Dato’ Shahabuddin bin Raja Razman
5. YM Raja Dato’ Seri Mansur bin Raja Razman, former Comptroller of the Royal Household of Perak

King Edward VII School, Taiping

Established in July 1883 and initially known as Central School. Its name was changed by R. F. Stainer, the school’s second headmaster to King Edward VII School in honour of Edward VII, who was the king of the United Kingdom at that time.
Motto: Magni Nominis Umbra (Under the shadow of a great name)


King Edward VII School, Taiping.

Notable alumni include:
1. Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Shah
2. Almarhum Sultan Abdul Aziz
3. Raja Bendahara Abdul Rashid ibni Almarhum Sultan Idris I
4. Yusof Ishak, first president of Singapore
5. Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik
6. Tan Sri Ghazali Jawi, former Perak Menteri Besar
7. Chan Sek Keong, Chief Justice of Singapore
8. General (Rtd) Tan Sri Mohamed Ghazali Che Mat

Lady Treacher’s Girls School, Taiping

Established 1889 as the English Government Girls’ School, it was the first all-girls school in the Federated Malay States, named after Lady Leila Treacher, the wife of Sir W.H. Treacher, the sixth British Resident of Perak.
Motto: Live worthly
Alumni include:
1. Tan Sri Dr Asiah Abu Samah, former D-G for the Ministry of Education, currently Commissioner of SUHAKAM
2. Datuk Hasmah Abdullah, D-G of the Inland Revenue Department
3. Raja Teh Zaitun Raja Kamaralzaman
4. Raja Nor Zaharah Raja Badiozaman

3 thoughts on “Schools in Perak: a brief appraisal

  1. Salam YM editors,

    There is another school in Perak, albeit a primary school, that may well be the State’s oldest school. Located in Kuala Kangsar, it underwent various name changes, just like the Clifford. From 1964 till today, the school assumes the name of Sekolah Kebangsaan Sultan Idris II, named after the 33rd Sultan of Perak who officiated its opening at its new building in 1964. The school was established in 1880.

    These were its previous names:
    1. Sekolah Melayu Kuala Kangsar
    2. Central Malay School Kuala Kangsar
    3. Sekolah Umum Kuala Kangsar Pusat
    4. Sekolah Kebangsaan Pusat Kuala Kangsar

  2. Pingback: 32nd Sultan of Perak: Sultan Yussuf Izzudin Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Abdul Jalil Shah (1948-1963) « SembangKuala BLOG

  3. There is another school in Kuala Kangsar (girl school) by the name of Methodist Girl School;its name was changed to Government English Girl School and latter,SMK Raja Perempuan Kelsom. It is situated on a top of the hill at Bukit Kerajaan (Chandan) opposite the Perak River. Its ancient building was namely because of the British design by the former British Resident, Hugh Low.

    Motto: Knowledge is the Key to Success

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s